Vicissitudes

food is love

Food is something that connects people across cultures and nations and serves as a bridge through which people can come to understand each other. Coming from an Asian background, food is a massive part of my upbringing and life.

Since my family isn't very good at communicating with their words, we would talk through food instead. I remember as a kid, my father would cook my brothers and me his version of an English breakfast on the weekends when he was in a good mood. Whenever I got sick, my mother would cook a heartwarming bowl of rice porridge for me, and I would feel better instantly. During times when we would have guests over, I would help my mother prepare hand-wrapped dumplings or hand-made noodles.

This love that can only be conveyed through food is not only about the food itself, but rather the memories you make with loved ones and the moments you share. Many of the memorable times in my life had something to do with food, because meal times would be when we would come together to enjoy a meal and spend time together.

Now that I'm older, whenever I cook for myself, I just throw something simple together without much effort. However, if I'm cooking for someone else, I tend to go the extra step to ensure the food I'm making is perfect for that person. I really enjoy cooking for other people because I want the person I'm cooking for to know that I appreciate them and that I care about them.

Food is not merely something that is eaten; it is more than just that. It is culture and heritage that are passed down through generations. It is a reminder of happy memories and childhood comfort foods.

Food is love.


23/31

#Blaugust2024 #life