Vicissitudes

it's ok to be average

We, as humans, only have about 4000 weeks on average to live. As such, everyone is finding their own way to fill it with meaningful, beautiful, or joyful moments. Life is truly something that I am excited about because of the sheer number of paths that we can explore and potentially go down.

However, as you've seen from some of my previous posts, I have been having a hard time coming to terms with this. It's really simple math; you can't be good at everything in life within a finite time period. I've slowly come to be more accepting of the fact that I can't be a master in every discipline, as much as I want to.

There has to be balance in the amount of time that I spend on different activities and hobbies for my own sake. The time I spend honing a particular skill could be spent on improving some other skill I'm interested in. I could be a super-duper technical and intelligent software engineer, or I could just be an average software engineer, writer, athlete, cook, and so on.

I would rather be average across many different things, knowing that I've at least tried them, rather than being pigeon-holed into a single thing my whole life. I'm perfectly fine with being an average software engineer; if I were to spend all my time outside of work sharpening up on my technical skills, it would leave less time for learning Japanese, writing, or just relaxing.

Life is too interesting to be focused on a single thing, and if that means I won't be the best at everything I do, that's fine with me.


20/31

#Blaugust2024 #life